Udemy Referral Program Terms & Conditions

Last updated: Dec. 4, 2018

We are extending the program until Dec. 31, 2018 and have updated these terms accordingly.

The Udemy Referral Program ("the Program") allows registered Udemy users ("Existing User") to earn promotional coupon credits ("Credits") toward the purchase of courses on Udemy by referring their friends to become new Udemy users and purchase a course.

To participate, Existing Users must agree to these terms, which become part of the Udemy Terms of Use. Capitalized terms that are not defined here will have the same meaning given to them in the Udemy Terms of Use.

Program description

Existing Users may share a Udemy course page link with a friend via the sharing tools provided on the Udemy platform (i.e. by using the Twitter, Facebook, email and link copy sharing icons on the course pages, course enrollment confirmation pages and course ratings pages). If a recipient of the shared course page link then purchases the course or another course on Udemy within the same session after clicking on the shared course page link, and if such recipient was not previously a Udemy user ("Referral"), then the Existing User who shared the course page link with the Referral will receive a Course Credit of US$5.00 (or an approximate value for countries other than the United States). There is a maximum limit of US$30.00 per Existing User (or an approximate value for countries other than the United States). All purchases by Referrals must be made before Dec. 31, 2018 to be eligible.

Who is eligible to receive a Credit?

To receive a Credit for sharing a course page link to a Referral, Existing Users must be registered users, which means they must have created an account with Udemy, and must be logged into their account when they share the course page link with the Referral.

Upon launch of the Program, the Program will only be accessible to Existing Users who have either shared a course or have purchased and consumed one or more courses in the past 30 days. Udemy reserves the right to expand the Program to all Existing Users.

Existing Users who are instructors may not use the Program to earn Credits for their published courses.

Sharing a course page link should only be for personal and non-commercial purposes, and course page links should only be shared with personal connections that will appreciate receiving these invitations. Course page links should not be published or distributed where there is no reasonable basis for believing that all or most of the recipients are personal friends (such as coupon websites, Reddit, LinkedIn or Wikipedia). Any such sharing voids eligibility from the Program.

What are eligible Referrals? What is the time limit?

In order for the Existing User to receive the Credit, Referrals must be new to Udemy, which means they must:
(i) create a valid account with Udemy and agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy,
(ii) not be a the Instructor of the course shared or the course purchased,
(iii) make their first purchase of a Udemy course through the Existing User’s referral link,
(iv) complete their purchase on or before Dec. 31, 2018,
and
(v) not exercise Udemy’s 30 day money back guarantee.

A Referral may only use one shared course page link. If a referred friend receives course page links shared from multiple Existing Users, the Existing User who sent the course page link that the Referral uses to make her first purchase on Udemy will be the one to receive the Credit.

The course must be purchased and paid for by the Referral via the Udemy website.

The Program may not be combined with other Udemy marketing programs or incentives. If a referred friend receives a course page link from multiple Udemy marketing or promotion programs (such as an instructor issued coupon), preference will be given to the other Udemy marketing or promotion program, voiding eligibility from the Program.

Earning and using Credits earned, expiration of credits

Earned Credits will be issued to Existing Users within 45 days from the date when the Referral completes the course purchase from the shared course page link. If the referred friend decides to exercise Udemy's 30 day money back guarantee, then the Existing User is no longer eligible for the Credit. Credits will automatically appear as a "Referral Credit" on the Existing User’s account "Udemy Credits" page. Note that Credit balance is only available on the Udemy website, and is not available from Udemy’s mobile or TV applications.

A maximum total amount of US$30.00 (or an approximate value for countries other than the United States) may be earned by Existing Users via the Program.

Credits may only be used for and redeemed via the Udemy website, for the purchase of a course. Credits are coupons issued for promotional purposes; they have no cash value and may not be transferred or exchanged for cash. Credits may not be used for purchase via Udemy mobile or TV applications.

Credits must be used within six months from the date they are issued.

Credits may not be earned by creating multiple Udemy accounts. Credits accrued in separate Udemy accounts may not be combined into one Udemy account.

If for any reason you believe that there is a discrepancy regarding your balance of Credits, please contact us by email at support@udemy.com. Udemy may require you to submit additional information in order to make a determination regarding your balance. All decisions regarding your balance will be final and at Udemy’s sole discretion.

Termination and Changes

Udemy may extend, suspend or terminate the Program or suspend or terminate a user’s ability to participate in the Program at any time for any reason.

We reserve the right to suspend accounts or remove Credits if we notice any activity that we believe is abusive, fraudulent, or in violation of the Udemy Terms of Use. We reserve the right to review and investigate all referral activities and to suspend accounts or modify referrals in our sole discretion as deemed fair and appropriate.

Updates to the Terms

We can update these terms at any time without prior notice. If we modify these terms, we will post the modification on the Udemy website, which are effective upon posting. Continued participation in the Program after any modification shall constitute consent to such modification.